How AC/DC saved my life.

The following is a true story.  The names have been changed to protect the guilty. — Bon Scott, “Ain’t No Fun Waiting Around To Be A Millionaire”


AC/DC has been my favorite band since I was a junior in high school.  Before then, I had heard a few of their songs and, at the time, I was not that impressed.  It sounded like a lot of noise to me, until I started playing guitar and attempted to form a band with my best friend Bill.

Now, I will tell you this.  With the exception of Bill (who I hit it off with immediately), I hated most of the people who are now my closest friends when I met them.  And so it was with AC/DC.  Because once I started to figure out their songs, it became clear to me that they were a great blues-based rock band.

But that’s not what saved my life.  No, it was a different aspect of the band.  AC/DC is one of the only bands to survive the loss of their original singer (sorry, but Dave Evans really doesn’t count).  You see, this singer was a guy named Bon Scott.  The first AC/DC album I had heard was Back in Black, which I later learned was a tribute album to the aforementioned Bon, who had passed away after a night of drinking while the songs that appeared on that album were being written by the Young brothers.

The relevant thing to me and my friends at the time was the fact that Bon Scott choked to death on his own vomit.  We vowed to never die that way, and as a result we made sure that we never fell asleep on our backs after a night of drinking.

And that is what saved my life.  After a night of binge drinking, I got the drunkest I have ever been in my life.  My buddy and I ordered a pizza, wolfed it down, and immediately passed out.

Upon waking the following afternoon, I was amazed that I was not in worse shape.  As I raised my head, my eyes focused on the pile of pizza vomit that was on the floor next to the bed.  And I realized how close I may have come to dying just like Bon did.  I would like to tell you that I never drank again, but that would be a lie.  But I never got that drunk again, and I never awoke to another pile of vomit by my bed.

Thank God for Rock and Roll.

Categories: Drugs are bad, Good News Everyone!, Hmm, Stupid People

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

