The worst blizzard EVAH!

One of the things I like the most about living in the South is the almost universal dislike for anyone from the Northeast.  And it’s not just leftover hatred from the Civil War.  It’s a dislike of Yankees’ tendency to think that they live at the center of the universe and that they know how to run you life better than you do.

As a result of this belief, anything that happens to the Washington DC-New York City-Boston corridor is deemed to automatically be the best/worst thing that has ever happened.  And so it is with Winter Storm Juno.

Snow amounts in New York have ranged from 7.8 inches at Central Park in New York City to more than 28 inches in eastern Long Island. La Guardia airport in New York City has seen 11 inches.

In Massachusetts, up to 30 inches of snow has been measured in Framingham, while Boston has seen 20.8 inches. Wind gusts in eastern Massachusetts have topped 70 mph and coastal flooding has closed some roads.

Thundersnow was reported in coastal portions of Rhode Island and Massachusetts late Monday night and early Tuesday.

Thundersnow?  What the hell is that?  Oh yeah, I think it was a Saturday morning cartoon in the 1980s.  But I digress.

As far as blizzards go, well, I spent the first 29 years of my life living in North Dakota.  We had storms like this multiple times each year when I was growing up.  When I was a kid, the snow drifts piled up to over 10 feet in height.

In 1994, my best friend and I got caught in a whiteout on the way home from Fargo on Christmas Eve.  It took us over 3 hours to drive 60 miles.  And in the winter of 1996-97, North Dakota experienced no less than 12 of these storms.  I know, because I went home over Christmas break.  As a poor college student, I took the bus and arrived the day after a blizzard.  It was also the day before the next blizzard.  And on the way back, the bus got caught in the middle of yet another blizzard.  We were stranded for three and a half days in Steele, North Dakota.  I left five days before classes began, and got back to Vegas on the second day of classes and had to scramble to avoid being dropped from all of my classes for missing the first class meeting.

So I have no sympathy for the poor, poor people of New York and Boston.  They don’t know how good they have it, because a storm of this type rarely hits them.  And I don’t care about all the snow that they got there.  Because I can top that story, too.  When I was teaching in Colorado, I went to an economics conference in Auburn, Alabama over Spring Break.  The night that I got back to Fort Collins, it began to snow.  When I awoke the next morning, there was over 4 feet of snow on the ground (and three feet of snow on my car).

Guess what? We didn’t whinge about it.  We didn’t run around in front of the cameras saying “look at me, look at me!” like neglected middle children.  No, we got out the snowplows and shovels and dug out and went about our lives.

So spare me, Weather Channel and national media.  The Northeast isn’t the special snowflake that you think it is.  In fact, the only good thing about Boston is that it produced Aerosmith, Boston (the band), Extreme, and the Cars.

Then again, Boston is to blame for the New Kids on the Block, New Edition, and Marky Mark and the Funky Bunch.  Screw you, Boston!

Categories: Boston sucks too, New York sucks, Nostalgia, Not Economics, Winter is coming

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

